Weeks 23 & 24

At the start of this year, my bike was parked in the Hauptbahnhof (main train station) while I went off to travel. When I came back, it was not stolen– I was a little surprised to still see it standing there. But when I took a closer look, I noticed that a big chunk was missing out of my saddle. When I took a closer look still, I noticed that… this was not my saddle. Yes, someone had stolen my bike saddle and replaced it with their old one. Thanks for the replacement, I guess?

Anyways, I hadn’t actually ridden my bike since then. Now I have, and so now I know why they stole my nicer saddle. This one doesn’t stay in place that well; it sort of see-saws up and down. This makes it incredibly difficult to go up hills. There are other issues with the bike, so I think I want to sell it now. But I don’t want to be out of a bike, and I also don’t want to go through the hassle of buying a new bike for just one semester (and having to resell it again when I leave). Even if I am selling it, I need to find a wrench to fix the seat or no one at all will buy it. Paradoxically, I almost wish the thief had just taken the entire bike, because then I wouldn’t have to worry about it.

Worrying about things is a problem in general right now. Finals are coming up and I’m studying like crazy. Besides that, I have a project, a presentation, and a paper to do, all of which I am slightly freaking out over. March is supposed to be the time that I work on the project and the paper, but I am planning quite a bit of travelling then before my intensive summer class starts. So yea, the next few weeks are going to be very very busy.

I don’t want to blabber on and on about school and stress. Unfortunately, I have nothing else of particular interest to share with you, apart from that I bought a whole smoked mackerel at a random market for only €4, and it was quite delicious.

img_20170201_222559

An old German study book a friend had from I think the early 1900s. I love the picture on the bottom left describing “die Mitternacht (midnight).” It’s a shame that I haven’t had much time to study German lately.

Costs:

Unfortunately I had a major fuck up and spent 100 Euro more than I needed to on a mistake in travel planning… arrgh. I plan to spend some more on travel soon as well, plus I have to pay school fees this month. I should still be able to spend less than I earn, as long as I actually eat everything that is currently in my fridge.

  • €225 – rent
  • €90 – health insurance
  • €20 – phone bill
  • €65 groceries
  • €20 – random market
  • €22 – dining
  • €28 – bouldering
  • €10 – small donation to a good cause
  • €300 – some March travel plans
  • Total: €780
Leave a Reply

