Packing List

I was asked recently about packing, so I thought I’d throw together a rough packing list. I packed a mid-sized suitcase, so it wasn’t too huge. I imagine I could have gotten away with bringing less, but I felt like I had the space, so I might as well use it. I ended up bringing like 2/3 of my wardrobe. When I list it out, it seems like a lot, but my clothes roll up into tiny little bundles so it doesn’t really take up that much space.

Apparently, it is heavy though, since lugging this suitcase up stairs has been a bit difficult. I don’t have a capsule wardrobe, because it’s hard for me to find items that can be mixed and matched well that I still feel good in. Plus, I have a bunch of T-shirts with cool stuff on them! Maybe I should have tried harder to fit everything into a carry-on roller… But the thing is, you can always get rid of stuff, and carry around a half-empty bag; you can’t go the other way. In the end, you don’t really need to bring a bunch of stuff with you, since you can buy anything you forget.

On the list below, I put the first four things into my backpack, so that I’d have them right from the start (in case my suitcase got lost). The rest would be ok to go without or re-buy if necessary.

Things I brought:

  • Cell phone, laptop, chargers, adapter, extension cord, headset, mouse
  • Medicines, toiletries, and underwear that make me feel human (e.g. perscription meds, toothbrush, contacts, favorite scent of deodorant)
  • Personal documents required for getting a visa (I might expound on this in a future post once I start the process)
  • Squishable bags (I carry these around everywhere and they have been very useful)
  • Clothes of varying levels of formality that I feel comfortable in
    • formal: 1 suit jacket (just in case), 1 pair of slacks, 2 formal shirts, 1 black dress, 1 pair of formal flats, 1 small purse
    • casual: 2 pairs of jeans, 1 pair of shorts, 4 skirts, 1 dress, 6 blouses, 8 T-shirts, fancy sandals, comfy sandals, Cons
    • other: 1 set of exercise clothes, 1.5 sets of swimwear, hiking boots
    • warmth: 1 set of long underwear, 1 hat, 1 pair of gloves, 2 scarves, 2 sweaters, 1 jacket, 1 waterproof shell
  • A DSLR camera (in a separate camera bag that I carried), and an everything-proof camera
  • Raspberry Pi, game controller
  • Backpack, spare bags that squish really small, my favorite leather satchel for short day trips
  • At the last second, I threw my pillow into my suitcase, and I’m actually glad I did

Things I (maybe) regret bringing:

  • Maybe the Raspberry Pi and accessories. It adds a chunk of weight, and I may not end up using it.
  • Maybe the DSLR because it’s a bit awkward to carry around (vs. a cell phone or small point-and-shoot camera). On the other hand, we have a planned trip tomorrow to another region which will be the perfect time to try it out, so maybe it’ll be good to have after all.

Things I regret NOT bringing:

  • A sharp chef’s knife. They are expensive, take up little space, and make cooking so much more enjoyable. Other cooking utensils of acceptable quality can be bought for pretty cheap, but this one is harder to find.

Things I bought since I came:

  • Sheets, blanket
  • Pot, forks, spoons, plate, knife (a really crappy one though), spatula
  • Shampoo/conditioner
  • Hand towel

Oof, I hope all that stuff I bought fits when I have to move in 3 weeks. I bought really cheap stuff because I knew it might not fit, but still.

Leave a Reply

